Lyn Stanley – Interludes


Gravado e misturado por Al Schmit, masterização de Bernie Grundman

2LP de 45RPM


Referência AATM 3104
Etiqueta A.T. Music
Embalagem 2 LP – 45RPM
Gramagem Vinil 180 g
Código de Barras 672713983040

Singer Lyn Stanley’s third studio album Interludes is robust and rousing. Stanley has enjoyed critical and commercial success with her first two recordings, Lost in Romance and Potions (from the 50s); here, her interpretations on another pass through the Great American Songbook employ vocals that are in turn seductive, emotional, saucy and inviting. She sounds comfortable no matter what the setting, finds jazz critic Scott Yanow.

The unique sultry jazz vocalist from the Los Angeles area turns up the wattage on Interludes, starting with the opening selection “How Long Has This Been Going On” a capella. “Just One Of Those Things” employs a creative Bill Cunliffe arrangement — Stanley is heard during one chorus having brief duets with bassist Chuck Berghofer, guitarist John Chiodini and pianist/arranger Bill Cunliffe before the full group joins in. Other tuneful highlights include “Black Velvet,” “More Than You Know,” and “Boulevard of Broken Dreams.”

The lowdown and rockish “Whole Lotta Love” and the always eerie “Last Tango In Paris” find Stanley putting timeless feeling into more contemporary songs. Great guest artists such as Hendrick Meurkens on harmonica appear on “Don’t Explain,” and Stanley begets a fine swing on “Nice ‘n’ Easy” and a sweet and lush interpretation on Duke Ellington’s “In A Sentimental Mood.” Her interlude concludes with a heartfelt duet with guitarist Chiodini on “I’m A Fool To Want You,” that’s full of longing and desire.


Lado A
1 How Long Has This Been Going On? 04:04
2 Just One Of Those Things 03:34
3 Whole Lotta Love 05:28
Lado B
4  More Than You Know 04:24
5 Boulevard of Broken Dreams 04:31
6 Nice ‘n Easy 03:01
7 Black Velvet 04:39
Lado C
8 In A Sentimental Mood 04:50
9 It’s Crazy 03:53
10 Don’t Explain 05:11
Lado D
11 Last Tango In Paris 03:31
12 The Island 05:15
13 I Was A Little Too Lonely 03:18
14 I’m A Fool To Want You 03:18


Scroll to Top