Sarah Vaughan – The Divine One



Pure Pleasure SR52060
Etiqueta Pure Pleasure Records
Embalagem 1 LP
Gramagem Vinil 180 g

Remastering by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London

“Recorded just after Sarah Vaughan joined the Roulette label in 1960, The Divine One found her in exactly the right circumstances to suit her excellent talents. Arranged by Jimmy Jones, who also sits in on piano, the setting was a small group that included one strong voice to accentuate hers — and no less a strong and clear voice than trumpeter Harry ‘Sweets’ Edison (the perfect accompaniment for Vaughan).

“The Divine One is mostly a ballads collection, and it includes a few songs that were new to her repertoire — good choices like ‘Have You Met Miss Jones?’ (aka ‘Old Jones’), ‘When Your Lover Has Gone,’ ‘Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams,’ and ‘Jump for Joy.’ One great left-field choice is ‘Ain’t No Use,’ the R&B song taken as a slow torch song that Big Maybelle had first recorded (Nina Simonedidn’t record it until several years later). Roulette would soon push Vaughan in many different directions — releasing over a dozen LPs in just a few short years — but this small-group date is a gem.” — AllMusic

Lado 1
1 Have You Met Miss Jones?
2 Ain’t No Use
3 Everytime I See You
4 You Stepped Out Of A Dream
5 Gloomy Sunday
6 What Do You See In Her
Lado 2
7 Jump For Joy
8 When Your Lover Has Gone
9 I’m Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
10 Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
11 Somebody Else’s Dream
12 Trouble Is A Man
Scroll to Top