Tina Brooks – Minor Move: Blue Note Tone Poet Series



Etiqueta Blue Note
Embalagem 1 LP
Gramagem Vinil 180 g

All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP of Tina Brooks’ Minor Move Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI: Reference-Caliber Blue Note Reissue Helmed by Music Matters’ Joe Harley
Soulful hard bop tenor-saxophonist Tina Brooks’ passionate full sound and forward-looking style, along with his exceptional compositional gifts, made him a powerful force during his prime years. Brooks only led four sessions for Blue Note during his lifetime with the 1958 recorded/1980 released Minor Move being his first. It finds him fronting a first rate hard bop line-up featuring pianist Sonny Clark, trumpeter Lee Morgan, bassist Doug Watkins, and drummer Art Blakey who deliver fresh takes on the standards “The Way You Look Tonight” and “Everything Happens to Me” and improvise their hearts out on the originals “Nutville” and “Minor Move.”

The Blue Note Tone Poet Series was born out of Blue Note President Don Was’ admiration for the exceptional audiophile Blue Note LP reissues presented by Music Matters. The label brought Joe Harley (from Music Matters), aka the “Tone Poet,” on board to curate and supervise a series of reissues from the Blue Note family of labels. Extreme attention to detail has been paid to getting these right in every conceivable way, from the deluxe gatefold jacket graphics and printing quality to superior mastering (all analog direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray to superb 180-gram audiophile LP pressings by Record Technology Inc. Every aspect of these Blue Note/Tone Poet releases is done to the highest-possible standard. It means that you will never find a superior version.

1 Nutville
2 The Way You Look Tonight
3 Star Eyes
4 Minor Move
5 Everything Happens To Me


Scroll to Top